Applications called for media awards for gender sensitivity

KATHMANDU: Laadli, one of India’s NGOs working for girl children, has called for entries from Nepali journalists to compete for the 10th Laadli Media Awards for Gender Sensitivity.

The awards will be announced amidst a special ceremony to be held in Mumbai on May 12, 2017.

"The objective of the Laadli Media Awards is to draw the attention of the public to the positive efforts in the media with regard to gender-sensitive reportage and provide a platform for showcasing such efforts to promote the role of influencers in the gender space," a statement issued by the organisers informed.

This year, the award is being extended to Nepal, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Myanmar and Mauritius, according to the organisers.

A journalist from each of the nations would be nominated.

Meanwhile, a five-member jury has been formed to nominate a journalist from the Nepali media, who will compete for the awards.

The jury includes Maiti Nepal Founder Anuradha Koirala, Tribhuvan University-Department of Journalism and Mass Communications Chief Chiranjibi Khanal, Federation of Nepali Journalists President Mahendra Bista, Nagarik Editor Guna Raj Luitel and The Himalayan Times Editor Prakash Rimal.

The jury has requested media organisations in Nepal to nominate their journalists by April 7. Individual journalists can nominate their own names.

The entries can be sent to