Cabinet expansion later today, Maoist Centre on board

KATHMANDU: CPN-UML Chair and Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli is in consultations with leaders of his party and the leaders of CPN Maoist Centre in a bid to appoint new members to his Cabinet later today.

PM Oli may add 15 to 18 members to the currently three member Cabinet on Wednesday evening.

UML leader Pradeep Gyawali had said that the cabinet will have new members on Wednesday with Maoist Centre joining the government along with CPN-UML appointees.

It is expected that CPN-UML will send a team led by leader Ishwor Pokhrel and comprising Pradeep Gyawali, Rabindra Adhikari, Raghubir Mahaseth, Bhanu Bhakta Dhakal and Padma Aryal as the ministerial candidates.

Meanwhile, since the appointment of Dr. Yuvaraj Khatiwada as a National Assembly Member, his name has been floating as the next Finance Minister in the Oli Cabinet.

However, the portfolios are yet to be decided.

Likewise, a CPN Maoist Centre team led by leader Ram Bahadur Thapa will join the cabinet. Matrika Yadav, Pampha Bhusal, Devendra Poudel, Lekhraj Bhatta, Chakrapani Khanal, Barsaman Pun, Girirajmani Pokhrel and Dev Gurung are likely to become ministers with this development.

Maoist Centre leader Thapa is the probable Deputy Prime Minister, next in seniority to the Prime Minister.

Earlier yesterday, UML leader Gyawali had also informed that efforts are on to get the Madhes based parties to join the government.