• Existing regional technical schools will be upgraded

Kathmandu, March 15

The Council for Technical Education and Vocational Training is planning to establish at least  one model multi-technical school in each of seven provinces.

It has already submitted a proposal in this regard to the Ministry of Education. “As the country has adopted federal set-up, there should be at least one model multi-technical school in each of the seven provinces,” said Pushpa Raman Wagle, member secretary at CTEVT.

If the Ministry of Education passes the proposal, technical schools in the provinces will be upgraded. Local levels can also conduct educational programmes in coordination with CTEVT from the technical schools in the provinces.

Wagle said instead of establishing new technical schools, CTEVT was planning to upgrade existing regional technical schools in Kohalpur, Bharatpur, Itahari, Palungtar, Lalmatiya, Rolpa and Karnali. However, technical schools can also be opened at the local levels considering the need, he added.

Similarly, CTEVT is also planning to establish multi-technical school in all the metropolitan cities.

“Technical education is being expanded to all the provinces so that students can study in their own locality. We hope establishment of technical schools will help improve the employment rate among youths,” Wagle said.

CTEVT has been providing technical education in the fields of agriculture, engineering and health. It has also been providing short-term technical training to produce skilled manpower.