DAO declares six areas in KMC prohibited zones

Kathmandu, February 20

District Administration Office, Kathmandu, has declared six areas in Kathmandu Metropolitan City as prohibited zones for any form of protest programme ‘in view of security sensitivity’ with effect from today.

The prohibited zones declared by the DAO are the area around the Office of the President in Shital Niwas; prime minister’s official residence at Baluwatar; the Parliament building in New Baneshwor; the area from Maitighar Mandala through the western gate of Singha Durbar to Padmodaya High School and Bhadrakali, and through the southern gate of Singha Durbar to Hanumansthan; area around the Office of the Vice-president; and the Election Commission.

A notice issued by the DAO today said Chief District Officer Kedarnath Sharma issued the order in accordance with Section 6(3) of the Local Administration Act, 1971 on the recommendation district security committee. The notice said the prohibitory order will be effective until further notice. No person or group will be allowed to stage protest or assembly in the prohibited areas.

Earlier in November, the DAO had removed the Baneshwor-based International Convention Centre and its surrounding areas from the list of prohibited zones until further notice.