EC directs govt to cancel transfer of under-secretaries

Kathmandu, November 27

The Election Commission today directed the Ministry of Home Affairs to immediately cancel the decision to transfer six under-secretaries including three chief district officers.

Earlier, the poll panel had refused to give permission to the MoHA to transfer those employees and directed the ministry to submit the original transfer file.

The MoHA last week transferred those employees including three CDOs — Bhojpur CDO Fadindra Dahal, Solukhumbu CDO Sunil Khanal and Birendra Kumar Yadav, the CDO of Nuwakot

Issuing a press release today, EC Spokesperson Navaraj Dhakal said transfer of six under-secretaries, including three CDOs without taking its approval, violated the election code of conduct. “Cancel the transfers immediately and inform the Election Commission,” read the press release.

The EC said the MoHA had sought permission only after transferring the employees.

The EC cautioned the MoHA that section 23 (3) of the Election Commission Act, 2016 would be invoked if the transfer of those six employees was not cancelled immediately.

The election body also warned the MoHA not to transfer any staffer without the taking the EC’s consent until the result of second phase of election was declared or the EC withdrew the election code of conduct.

The election commission had enforced election code of conduct for provincial and the parliamentary elections  earlier this year  on August 30.