EC announces calendar for NA elections

KATHMANDU: The Election Commission today unveiled the calendar of the National Assembly election, to be held on February 7.

According to the schedule, the EC will publish voter's list at 10 am on January 21 and the complaints against the voters can be lodged from 11 am to 5 pm on the same day. The polls panel will investigate on the complaints on January 22 and publish final voter list from 10 am to 5 pm on January 23.

Candidates will have to file their nomination on January 24 at the office of chief returning officer or returning officer from 10 am to 4 pm. The EC will publish names of the candidate from 4pm to 5 pm on the same day.

The chiefs and deputy chiefs of local levels and provincial assembly members are voters of the NA election. Of 2,056 total voters--1,506 are local levels chiefs and deputy chiefs of 753 local levels and 550 are provincial assembly members. The EC said that vote weightage of each local level chief and deputy chief is 18 and each provincial assembly member is 48.

Out of 59 NA members, each province would elect eight members via secret voting. Among them --three women, one from Dalit community, one of either marginalized group or differently able people and remaining three could be selected from open category from every province.

Remaining three will be nominated by the president in the recommendation of the government.