Kathmandu, February 18:

The first general convention of the Far-Western Media Society (FMS) yesterday elected an 11-member executive committee under the chairmanship of Bhoj Raj Bhat.

Gokarna Raj Awasthi, Arun Dev Joshi and Pawan Barsha Shah were elected vice-president, general secretary and treasurer respectively. The members included Hem Chandra Subedi, Govinda Rosyara, Deepak Chandra Bhatta, Deepak Bohara, Ram Bahadur Rawal, Devendra Rawal and Padam Raj Joshi.

“The newly-elected committee will work to enhance the skills of journalists besides safeguarding their rights,” states a release issued by the FMS here today.