KATHMANDU: The first session of the Federal Parliament, which was formed after the completion of House of Representatives and Province Assembly elections, is scheduled to be held at 4:00 pm today.

The session is taking place at the Federal Parliament Building (International Convention Center) at New Baneshwor as called by President Bidya Devi Bhandari earlier on February 20.

In the bicameral federal parliament, the House of Representatives functions as the lower house while the National Assembly serves as the upper house.

According to federal parliament secretariat's general secretary Manohar Prasad Bhattarai, meeting of both houses shall start simultaneously this afternoon as per the schedule.

The upper house consists of 59 members (56 elected from the February 7 National Assembly election and three nominated by the President), while the lower house has 275 members (165 elected from first-past-the-post system and remaining 110 from proportional representation system).

The House of Representatives election was held in two phases, on November 26 and December 7 last year. Members of both houses took oath of office and secrecy yesterday.

The newly elected members of parliament took oath of office on Sunday.