Five Madhesi parties unify to form Rastriya Janata Party

KATHMANDU: Five Madhesi parties are preparing to formally announce their unification in Kathmandu on Thursday.

It has been learned that the top leaders of the parties have decided to name the unified party Rastriya Janata Party.

Mahantha Thakur-led Tarai Madhesh Democratic Party, Rajendra Mahato-led Sadbhawna Party, Mahendra Raya Yadav-led Tarai Madhesh Sadbhawana Party, Sarat Singh Bhandari-led Rastriya Madhes Samajwadi Party and Raj Kishore Yadav-led Madhesi Janadhikari last night joined hands to form a single party.

Unification will be formally announced amid a function at Amritbhog in Kalikasthan at 2 pm today, Rastriya Madhes Samajwadi Party leader Keshav Jha informed.

The five parties have altogether 23 lawmakers in the Parliament.

Leaders said they are holding negotiations with Anil Jha-led Nepal Sadbhavana Party also to be part of the unification.