Nepal | August 11, 2020

Government fixes public holidays for 2077 BS

Himalayan News Service
Share Now:

Kathmandu, April 14

The Ministry of Home Affairs has fixed the number of public holidays other than Saturdays for the year 2077 BS.

Public holidays will be applicable for the government offices from Baishakh 1 (April 13, 2020) to Chaitra 30 (April 13, 2021).

According to a notice published by the MoHA, the country will have 37 public holidays in addition to 52 Saturdays. Of the  37 holidays, 15 public holidays will extend throughout the country for all, while others will be granted to people or groups belonging to the concerned religions, cultures, geographical regions and districts.

The public holidays that are applicable for all are: New Year day, Mahashivaratri, Holi, Dashain (five days), Tihar (three days), May Day, Constitution Day, International Women’s Day and Buddha Jayanti.

Festival holidays for Ubhauli, Gaura Parva, Eid ulFitr, Chhath, Bakra Eid, Christmas, Tamu Lhosar, Maghe Sankranti, Sonam Lhosar, Gyalpo Lhosar, Sirwa Pawani and Dawathambu Chheuchik will be granted to people or groups from the concerned communities and religions.

Only women will be entitled to public holidays on Teej and Jitiya Parva. There will be public holidays on Basant Panchami for educational institutions, whereas four holidays (Gai Jatra, Indra Jatra, Matsyendranath Festival and Ghode Jatra) are meant only for Kathmandu valley. Similarly, Kirant community and Sikh community will get public holiday for celebration of Falgunananda Jayanti and Guru Nanak Jayanti, respectively.

According to the MoHA, the government will also celebrate Republic Day, National Day for Elimination of Caste-based Discrimination and Untouchability, Civil Service Day, National Unity Day, Martyr’s Day and National Democracy Day throughout the country without shutting down government offices.

Employees associated with emergency and essential services such as hospitals, ropeways, police, immigration, prisons, fire brigade, Radio Nepal, Nepal Television, press, postal offices and telecommunications, may take leave in lieu as they are required to provide service even during public holidays, the MoHA said.

Likewise, the provincial governments may declare public holidays for up to six days a year considering their respective religions, cultures and rituals, in addition to those fixed by the federal government. The public holidays will also be applicable for all government offices in the concerned province.

If a province has to declare public holidays for more than six days a year, it must be mandatory to obtain prior approval of the federal government.

However, the power to declare public holiday in Kathmandu valley (Kathmandu, Lalitpur and Bhaktapur) for government offices to mark any festive holidays shall rest with the MoHA. The notice states that the provincial governments can decide on the public holidays to be fixed by them and publish a notice to this effect in the Provincial Gazettte in the beginning of every Nepali New Year.

A version of this article appears in e-paper on April 15, 2020 of The Himalayan Times.


Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories:

More from The Himalayan Times:

Opinion: Remain connected through the umbilical cord

Separating Sita from Ram, Janakpur from Ayodhya, and Kathmandu from Kashi is tantamount to severing the body from the soul In a stunning claim, Nepali Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli on July 13 said that Ayodhya, the ancient city believed by millions of Hindus to be the birthplace of Lord Ram, Read More...

South Asian Gastronomy Association launches 'Savestreetfood' campaign across SAARC countries amid COVID-19 crisis

KATHMANDU: The South Asian Association for Gastronomy (SAAG) has launched a campaign to 'Savestreetfood' across India, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bangladesh, among others, in a bid to save food vendors affected by the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. SAAG, comprising of hospitality industry professionals, food Read More...

Three kids left stranded after mother goes missing in Doti  

A mother of three children has gone missing after her terminally ill husband passed away few months ago at Nara gaun in Sayal Rural Municipality-6 of Doti district. According to a local Deepak Bahadur Khati, the father of the three kids, Baji Khati, died some fifteen months ago. Now the mothe Read More...

Isolation ward set up

RAJBIRAJ, AUGUST 9 With the rise of COVID infection, Tilathi Koiladi Rural Municipality has brought an isolation ward with 100 beds into operation in the rural municipality of Saptari district. As many as 28 infected people are receiving treatment in the new isolation ward set up at Public Hig Read More...

Bank sealed after employees contract virus

LAHAN, AUGUST 9 Global IME Bank here has been sealed after an employee tested positive for coronavirus. Other employees at the bank have been kept in quarantine. The bank employee, a 34-year-old from Mahottari district, tested positive for COVID-19. Lahan Municipality’s health section Chi Read More...

Manang Village, Marshyangdi river, Gangapurna lake

COVID fear looms large with more people entering Manang

MANANG, AUGUST 9 The number of workers and employees entering Manang has increased after the nationwide lockdown against COVID-19 pandemic imposed since the night of July 21 was lifted. With increase in people’s movement leading to subsequent rise in infection rate and the death toll as well Read More...


Rural municipality in Jhapa imposes lockdown

JHAPA, AUGUST 9 Gauriganj Rural Municipality in Jhapa district has decided to impose lockdown for four days to curb the spread of COVID-19. A meeting of Gauriganj Rural Municipality Corona Emergency Work Operation Centre today took the decision to impose the lockdown from August 14 to 17. W Read More...

‘Ruling party lawmakers against provincial govt’

HETAUDA, AUGUST 9 Bagmati Province Chief Minister Dormani Poudel today claimed that lawmakers of the Provincial Assembly from his party were hatching a conspiracy against his government. Inaugurating Fifth Makawanpur District Assembly meeting of District Coordination Committee in Hetauda, CM P Read More...