Ghimire elected leader of child participation network

KATHMANDU: The Consortium of Organisations Working for Child Participation elected its new executive committee under the leadership of Yubaraj Ghimire.

A convention of the network held in Kathmandu on Saturday and Sunday unanimously elected Ghimire of Children and Women and Social Service and Human Rights (CWISH) to the post of President.

Likewise, the convention elected Sant Ram Dangol of Looniva Child Concern Group, Kiran Thapa of Child Development Society, Brijmohan Kushwaha of Protection Nepal and Indira Joshi of Patan CBR to the posts of Vice-President, General Secretary, Secretary and Treasurer respectively.

Rudra Masranghi of Indreni Society, Shova Mishra of AFHA Nepal, Gun Keshari Shrestha of FOWEP Nepal, Devi Regmi of FOHREN Nepal, Santosh Maharjan of Global Action Nepal and Prakash Khatiwada of Child Welfare Society were elected members of the Committee.

The convention also elected coordinators for seven provinces.

Meanwhile, the Consortium also held an interaction on 25 Years of the Convention of the Rights of the Child and Child Participation.

Minister for Youth and Sports Satya Narayan Mandal, Central Child Welfare Board Executive Director Tarak Dhital, Ministry of Women Children and Social Welfare Under-Secretary Kiran Rupakheti among other stakeholders had spoken at the interaction.