Govt promotes nine joint secys to secretaries

Kathmandu, October 10

The government yesterday promoted nine senior joint secretaries to the post of secretary.

A cabinet meeting held yesterday decided to promote them. This was the first promotion after the changes in Civil Service Act and Regulations in September.

Those promoted include four joint secretaries from the administrative service — Kedar Bahadur Adhikari, Rajendra Nepal, Mahesh Dahal and Mohan Krishna Sapkota. Likewise, Tek Prasad Dhungana from Law Service, Bhim Prasad Upadhyay from Engineering Service, Shankar Das Bairagi from Foreign Service, Hari Prasad Neupane from the Office of Auditor General and Udaya Chandra Thakur from Agriculture and Forest Service have also been promoted, according to Secretary at the Ministry of General Administration Tanka Mani Sharma.

As per the rule, earlier the Public Service Commission had recommended 27 senior joint secretaries for the vacant post of nine secretaries.

Secretary Bairagi has been posted at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, while Dhungana and Neupane have been posted at the Office of President and the Office of the Auditor General, respectively, according to MoGA Secretary Sharma. Likewise, Secretary Adhikari was deputed to the Office of Nepal Trust, whereas Secretary Nepal has been posted at the Office of the Financial Comptroller General, where he had been an officiating secretary.

Other four newly promoted secretaries have been sent to the reserve pool of the Ministry of General Administration, and would be deputed after formation of the new government, Sharma told The Himalayan Times.