Graft case filed against TMO staffers

Kathmandu, January 31

The Commission for the Investigation of Abuse of Authority today filed a charge-sheet against eight officials at the Special Court for their alleged involvement in corruption.

Those facing the graft charge are section officers Bhakta Bahadur Bista and Bishnu Prasad Subedi; computer operators Jaya Narayan Chaudhary and Sachin Kumar Singh of Lalitpur-based Transport Management Office; computer officer of Thulo Bharyang-based TMO Bijendra Raj Joshi; former computer operators of Lalitpur TMO Amit Kumar Shah, Bijay Ram Banmala and Madan Kumar Shah.

CIAA Spokesperson, Rameshwor Dangal said they had issued driving licence to 629 persons who did not even attend the trial exam or failed to go through it. They have been charged under the Prevention of Corruption Act.

If any authorised person alters the results of examinations with the intention of gaining illegal advantage, he/she shall be liable to a imprisonment from three months to one year, along with the fine ranging from Rs 5,000 to Rs 10,000 depending on the gravity of the offence.

Court employee held for bribery

KATHMANDU: The Commission for the Investigation of Abuse of Authority on Thursday arrested Bholanath Chalise, a non-gazetted first class officer of Kathmandu District Court, with Rs 500,000 bribe he received from a service seeker.

He was arrested  from the premises of the Department of Forests in Babarmahal, Kathmandu.

According to the anti-graft body, he had received the bribe amount from a service-seeker promising to help reduce punishment in a vehicular homicide case filed at the district court.