Ruling coalition, supporters form high-level committee under UCPN-M Chair Dahal

KATHMANDU: The ruling coalition and supporters have formed a high-level political coordination committee led by UCPN-Maoist Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal.

A joint meeting of various parties that lent support to form the government in CPN-UML Chairman KP Sharma Oli's leadership formally decided to form the committee with an aim to guide and support the functioning of the coalition government.

The meeting was held at the Office of the Prime Minister and Council of Ministers, Singhadarbar this morning.

CPN-UML leaders Jhala Nath Khanal and Bidya Bhandari, Rastriya Prajatantra Party-Nepal Chairman and Deputy Prime Minister Kamal Thapa, Madhesi Janaadhikar Forum-Democratic Chairman and Deputy Prime Minister Bijaya Kumar Gachhadar are included in the committee as members. Likewise, Chitra Bahadur KC of Rastriya Janamorcha and Narayanman Bijukchhe Rohit are also on board the committee among others.

After its formation, the committee held its meeting and decided to urge the agitating Madhesi parties to discontinue the obstruction in the Nepal-India border and ease the supplies of fuel and other commodities.

The committee has called its next meeting at 3 pm to discuss the election Speaker and Deputy Speaker, scheduled for tomorrow, and that of President and Vice-President.