KATHMANDU: The ten committees formed under the House of Representatives today elected its presidents, unopposed.

Speaker of the House of Representatives Krishna Bahadur Mahara administered oath of office and secrecy to the newly elected presidents of the thematic committees of the lower house.

The parliamentary committee presidents took oath of office from Speaker Mahara amidst a special function at the hall of Agriculture, Cooperative and Natural Resource Committee at Singhadurbar on Friday.

Eight committees will be led by the ruling party Nepal Communist Party (NCP) while Nepali Congress and the Federal Socialist Forum Nepal each got leadership of remaining two committees. The newly elected Committee Presidents are:

  • Public Accounts Committee (PAC): Bharat Kumar Shah (Nepali Congress)
  • Development and Technology Committee: Kalyani Kumari Khadka (Nepal Communist Party (NCP))
  • State Affairs and Good Governance Committee: Shashi Shrestha  (Nepal Communist Party (NCP))
  • Industry and Commerce and Labour and Consumer Welfare Committee: Bimal Prasad Srivastav (Federal Socialist Forum Nepal)
  • Education and Health Committee: Jaypuri Gharti (Nepal Communist Party (NCP))
  • Agriculture, Cooperative and Natural Resource Committee: Purna Kumari Subedi  (Nepal Communist Party (NCP))
  • Finance Committee: Krishna Prasad Dahal (Nepal Communist Party (NCP))
  • International Relations Committee: Pabitra Niraula (Nepal Communist Party (NCP))
  • Law, Justice and Human Rights Committee: Krishna Bhakta Pokharel (Nepal Communist Party (NCP))
  • Women and Social Development: Niru Devi Pal (Nepal Communist Party (NCP))