HSEB formally transformed into National Examination Board

Bhaktapur, June 30

Higher Secondary Education Board located in Sanothimi has been transformed into National Examination Board as per the eighth amendment to the Education Act,1971.

HSEB was an autonomous body established under Higher Secondary Education Act,1989 to manage Plus Two education. As per the amendment, the chairperson of NEB will be appointed by the Cabinet on the recommendation of a committee headed by chairperson of Public Service Commission with at least a woman educationist and two persons nominated by the Ministry of Education as members.

Till the new chairperson is appointed, the education secretary, who is the ex officio vice chairperson of NEB, will be working as acting chairperson.

Education Secretary Bishwo Prakash Pandit in his capacity as acting chairperson of the NEB today visited the previous HSEB building to replace its signboard with that of NEB. He also directed all division chiefs and employees in the office to continue their duties until further notice.

The HSEB had a total of 425 employees.

The first meeting of NEB chaired by Pandit today decided to hand over letters to HSEB employees to certify that they were now employees of NEB.Similarly, the meeting also decided to allow the Office of the Controller of Examinations (SLC board) to continue its regular works until further notice.

The examinations controller office under previous HSEB will now be conducting Grade XI and XII examinations under NEB.

Meanwhile, the MoE today decided to form a committee headed by director general of the Department of Education to investigate applications for affiliations to new higher secondary schools and take necessary decisions.

Higher secondary level schools will now be managed by DoE. For this, respective divisions/sections of previous HSEB will help DoE by handing over documents.

The scholarship exams for Grade XI announced by previous HSEB will be conducted by DoE. The regional offices under previous HSEB will conduct scholarship exams in coordination with district education offices, while the results would be announced by DEOs.

Dr Laba Deo Awasthi, joint-secretary at the MoE, has been appointed NEB member secretary.

A committee under the coordination of MoE Joint Secretary Hari Prasad Lamsal has been formed to amend the education regulations as per the amended Education Act.