EAN panel formed

KATHMANDU: The second National Convention of Environmentalists’ Association of Nepal (EAN) formed a 15-member executive committee under the chairmanship of Ananda Raj Joshi on Tuesday. Madan Koirala was unanimously selected the first vice-president while Yashodham Tripathi, Sudip Devkota and Tek Jung Mahal will be the second vice presidents, a press release issued here said. Other members include Yanil Shankar Giri (general secretary), Sita Ram Kandel (secretary) and Manisha Manandhar (treasurer). — HNS

Training held

KATHMANDU: Additional Inspector General of Armed Police Force, Rohit Thapa, on Tuesday said the APF aims to produce skilled manpower for the successful holding of the Constituent Assembly polls. While addressing the concluding session of the Election Security Orientation Training held at Dakshinkali Battalion of Balambu, AIG Thapa directed senior officers of Armed Police Force to organise more training programmes to help enhance the capability of

the APF personnel. He also said that the officers should be mentally prepared to fulfil their duty during the CA polls. He said the APF officers should work in accordance with the people’s will and safeguard human rights. — HNS