Kathmandu, November 20

The Judicial Council has recommended appointment of 15 judges to the high courts.

As per the decision of a JC meeting held today, six of the new appointees are from among district judges, one from among secretaries of Attorney General’s Office, and eight from among advocates, according to a JC statement.

The new appointments from among district judges include Jhapa District Judge Kiran Kumar Pokhrel, who has been recommended for Biratnagar High Court (Okhaldhunga Bench), Nawalparasi District Judge Murari Babu Shrestha for Surkhet high Court (Jumla Bench), and Kathmandu District Judge Sudarshan Raj Pandey for Pokhara High Court (Baglung Bench)

Similarly, Bara District Judge Dipendra Adhikari has been recommended for Janakpur High Court (Rajbiraj Bench), Rupandehi District Judge Ramesh Raj Pokhrel for Janakpur High Court (Birgunj Bench) and Morang District Court Judge Narishwor Bhandari for Biratnagar High Court. From among secretaries of the AG Office, Joint Attorney Gita Prasad Timsina has been recommended for Janakpur High Court (Rajbiraj Bench).

From among advocates, the JC recommended Milan Kumar Rai of Bhojpur for Dipayal High Court, Raju Ram Silwal of Chitwan for Biratnagar High Court (Okhaldhunga Bench), Merina Shrestha of Doti for Tulsipur High Court, Mina Gautam Sedhai of Morang for Patan High Court, and Som Kanta Mainali of Chitwan for Biratnagar High Court (Dhankuta Bench). Other appointees from among the advocates are Desh Bahadur Sarki of Bhojpur for Tulsipur High Court, Rekha Thapa Pandey of Sunsari for Patan High Court and Kiran Kumari Gupta of Saptari for Pokhara high Court.

While Sarki has been recommended in place of Tulsipur High Court Judge Dayanath Kharel after the latter’s retirement on December 1, Pandey will be replacing Patan High Court Judge Narendra Kumar Siwakoti after his retirement on December 2. Similarly, Gupta will replace Pokhara High Court Judge Jagat Prasad Shrestha on December 7.

Chief Justice Cholendra SJB Rana will appoint the judges and administer oath of office and secrecy to the new appointees.

Today’s meeting also transferred eight high court judges. Prakash Chandra Gajurel from Biratnager High Court has been transferred to Janakpur High Court, Shiv Narayan yadav from Tulsipur has been transferred to Biratnagar, Binod Sharma from Biratnagar to Surkhet and Krishna Giri from Surkhet to Janakpur.

The other high court judges, who have been transferred today, are Ramesh Kumar Khatri from Surkhet to Pokhara, Ravi Sharma from Biratnagar to Patan, Janak Pandey from Dipayal to Janakpur and Rajesh Kumar Kaphle from Biratnagar to Tulsipur.