KP Sharma Oli sworn in as PM, forms three-member Cabinet


KATHMANDU: CPN-UML Chair KP Sharma Oli has been appointed the 41st Prime Minister of Nepal.

President Bidya Devi Bhandari administered the oath of office to the newly-elected Prime Minister amid a function at the President’s Official Residence, Shital Niwas, this evening.

Oli was appointed to the top executive post in accordance with Article 76 (2) of the Constitution of Nepal.

Earlier, the left alliance endorsed Oli’s bid for premiership through correspondence to President Bhandari. The left alliance comprising the UML and the CPN-MC has a comfortable majority in the 275-member House of Representatives, with the largest party, UML having 121 seats and the CPN-MC 53.

Newly elected PM forms three-member Cabinet

The newly-elected Prime Minister formed a three-member Cabinet incorporating ministers Lal Babu Pandit and Tham Maya Thapa. Thapa has been appointed as Minister for Women and Children welfare whereas Pandit has been appointed as Minister for Population and Environment.

President administered the oath of office and secrecy to both Pandit and Thapa.

CPN-UML, with support from the CPN Maoist Centre, had put forth Oli's name for the top executive post on Wednesday.

He is CPN-UML's fourth leader to take the high office of Prime Minister since 1995.

A meeting of the UML parliamentary party held in Singhadarbar this afternoon unanimously appointed him as the Parliamentary Party (PP) leader.

Vice President Nanda Bahadur Pun; Chief Justice Gopal Prasad Parajuli; outgoing Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba; Former Prime Ministers Madhav Kumar Nepal, Jhalanath Khanal and Pushpa Kamal Dahal; Former Speakers of Constituent Assembly/ Legislative Parliament Subhash Nembang and Onsari Gharti Magar; Ministers of incumbent government; prominent politicians; foreign dignitaries; high ranking officers of security forces and other high level officials were present at the swearing-in ceremony.