LBRC working to determine autonomous, protected regions

Kathmandu, January 3

The Local Bodies Restructuring Commission said it had been working to determine special autonomous and protected regions after completion of the report on number and boundaries of local bodies.

The constitutional body, which is mandated to determine the number and boundaries of local bodies, had finalised its report two weeks ago and has been seeking time of the prime minister to submit it.

The government, however, is reluctant to receive the report due to ongoing political deadlock. Once the government receives the report, local bodies under the existing structure would become invalid, as per Article 303 of the constitution.

“We have been working to determine special, autonomous and protected regions,” said LBRC Chief Balananda Paudel. He said the commission was discussing with all stakeholders, including political parties, people of concerned areas and experts on the possibility of creating special autonomous and protected regions.

According to Paudel, the commission will discuss economic and other aspects once the number of the special autonomous, semi-autonomous and protected regions is finalised.  He said the commission would speed up its work after the government receives its report on the number and boundaries of local bodies.

LBRC member Sunil Ranjan Singh said the commission was working to finalise reports before the March 13 deadline. “We have been holding discussions with various stakeholders. Today we received a memorandum from Nepal Federation of Indigenous Nationalities on autonomous and protected regions,” said LBRC member Singh. He said the commission would hold discussion with other stakeholders before reaching a conclusion.

As per the constitutional provision, LBRC has to submit its report on protected and autonomous regions to the government by March 13. The commission is mandated to determine the number, boundaries and economic potential of village councils, municipalities and special, protected and autonomous regions within one year of its formation, as stated in Article 56 (5) of the constitution.