Local level representatives vow to improve services

Kathmandu, June 11

Chief and deputy chief of metropolitan cities, sub-metropolitan cities, municipalities and rural municipalities that fall under Province 3 today issued a 14-point Dhulikhel Declaration after the end of a three-day orientation training organised by the Ministry of Federal Affairs and Local Development in Dhulikhel of Kavre.

Province 3 comprises 13 districts, including Kathmandu, Lalitpur and Bhaktapur. Elected representatives of local levels have pledged to deliver services to the people in a speedy, easy, simple and effective manner by ensuring inclusive governance and systematic development for peace and prosperity.

“We will take the initiative for implementation of  the constitution as per the people’s aspiration. At the same time, we will give high priority to post-earthquake reconstruction with participation of and in coordination with locals by determining a framework and procedure in this regard,” read the declaration.

The local level representatives also said they would mobilise and utilise locally available natural resources to the maximum extent possible for economic, social and cultural development of local communities.

“We are committed to promoting entrepreneurship and employment by sharing resources and means with each other; achieving systematic urban development; constructing quality physical infrastructure; and protecting the rights and interest of consumers,” said the declaration.

They have also pledged to improve the living standards of people by enhancing their income generation capacity while laying emphasis on production, distribution and utilisation of typical local goods and services.

“Elected representatives will make local governance adaptable to the norms and values of gender equality and social inclusion through the promotion of people-oriented, environment-friendly, child-friendly, disabled-friendly and senior citizen-friendly system,” said in the declaration.

The elected representatives said they would also fully comply with the National Building Code to develop earthquake-resistant infrastructures and buildings besides enhancing disaster preparedness measures by maintaining inter-local government coordination.

“We are also committed to developing smart cities singly or jointly through maximum utilisation of modern information technology, making the places of public importance free Wi-Fi zones and expanding Internet facilities to all municipalities and rural municipalities,” read the declaration, adding that mass transport system, effective waste management and greenery promotion also included in their priority list.