MoFALD forms teams for all provinces

Kathmandu, January 8

The Ministry of Federal Affairs and Local Development has formed a monitoring and facilitation team for each province to coordinate with the local levels in dispelling confusion about new laws.

A press statement issued by the MOFALD today said each team would be led by a joint secretary. Anandaraj Dhakal will oversee Province 1, Suresh Adhikari Province 2, Hari Paudel Province 3, Ram Krishna Sapkota Province 4, Purusottam Nepal Province 5, Bed Bahadur Karki Province 6 and Rudra Singh Tamang Province 7.

“A team led by an under-secretary has been deputed to each district for this purpose and the team will work in close coordination and collaboration with the district-level teams to assist in running the local levels in the changed context,” said the release. Despite enactment of various laws related to operation of local levels as per the federal set-up, people’s elected representatives are still in confusion about the jurisdiction, functions, duties and powers conferred on them by the constitution and respective laws.

The monitoring and facilitation teams have been tasked with bringing about improvement in the condition of service delivery from local levels and addressing the problems and difficulties and ambiguities relating to operation of local governments. “In cases where issues which need to be addressed from the policy level emerge, the teams will write to the MoFALD with recommendations for necessary action,” the release added.

Formation of the teams is expected to ease service delivery at the local levels and speed-up development activities, MoFALD said.