NCP endorses 441-member CC

Kathmandu, May 21

Nepal Communist Party Secretariat today endorsed its 441-member central committee, including 241 members from the erstwhile CPN-UML and 200 from the CPN-Maoist Centre.

Members from the UML were finalised yesterday, while Pushpa Kamal Dahal submitted the names from his side to NCP General Secretary Bishnu Poudel today. The erstwhile CPN-MC had 4,000-member central committee, and Dahal has chosen 200 from among them. However, the names of central committee members from the erstwhile CPN-MC have yet to be revealed. Sources said Poudel would reveal the names of central committee members soon.

Today’s meeting of the NCP Secretariat held in Baluwatar also formed three taskforces to complete the unification process up to the grassroot level and sister organisations. According to NCP Spokesperson Narayan Kaji Shrestha, these taskforces will submit their reports within 15 days.

The first taskforce, which has four members — General Secretary Poudel, Dev Gurung, Beduram Bhusal and Khimlal Bhusal — will draft the regulation on the basis of the statute for the party’s organisational structure. According to NCP Spokesperson Shrestha, the regulation will be a ‘supplementary statute’.

The second taskforce, including in-charges, coordinators, co-coordinators and secretaries from former UML and CPN-MC, will suggest and recommend the organisational structure at the provincial level.

The third taskforce, which will have in-charges and chiefs of sister organisations of both the parties, will recommend organisational structure of the sister organisations.

Shrestha said the secretariat also decided the party would soon publish its statute and political and ideological document.

The NCP has not decided yet which head office among the two — Paris Danda or Dhumbarahi — would be made the unified party’s headquarters. The secretariat has given the responsibility to finalise the headquarters to co-chairpersons KP Sharma Oli and Pushpa Kamal Dahal.

Disgruntled over the ranking of leaders in the new party, Jhalanath Khanal also attended today’s meeting.

The secretariat, however, could not endorse the 45-member standing committee.