KATHMANDU: A total of 621 doctors in Kathmandu Valley cast their votes in the Nepal Medical Council election on Thursday.

According to Anita Lama, member secretary of NMC election committee, 195 doctors cast their ballots from the polling centre at Local Development Training Academy, Jawalakhel, while 426 votes were cast at Police Club, Bhrikutimandap. “The number of votes cast was much less than expected,” added Lama.

The election held every four years has three candidates Dr Narayan Bikram Thapa, Dr Pushpa Mani Kharal and Dr Satish Kumar Deo vying for the position of the council’s vice-president while 27 doctors are competing for eight member positions. NMC comprises 20 members of whom nine are nominated by the government.

The election will continue till Saturday.