Nepali Congress CWC poll: Winners of provincial representation announced

KATHMANDU: Concluding the week-long vote count, the Nepali Congress Election Committee on Monday announced results of the elections held under the provincial representation category to elect 14 Central Working Committee members.

Interestingly, two factions of the party - led by new President Sher Bahadur Deuba and outgoing acting President Ram Chandra Paudel - have been successful to elect seven members each from their panels.

While a province has two members, making it 14 from seven provinces, seven from Paudel panel have made it to the CWC by garnering the highest votes in their respective provinces.

Following them are from Deuba panel in the second position in each province.


Province 1

Guru Raj Ghimire (1,340

Bhishma Raj Angdembe (1,208)

Province 2

Ananda Prasad Dhungana (1,461)

Ramesh Rijal (1,457)

Province 3

Nabindra Raj Joshi (1,225)

Mohan Bahadur Basnet (1,067)

Province 4

Govinda Bhattarai (1,299)

Surendra Raj Pandey (1,266)

Province 5

Deepak Giri (1,472)

Devendra Raj Kandel (1,347)

Province 6

Hridaya Ram Thani (1,612)

Jeevan Bahadur Shahi (1,526)

Province 7

Dilendra Prasad Badu (1,602)

Bir Bahadur Balayar (1,385)