Nepal | July 16, 2020

NC forms parliamentary board to finalise poll candidates

Himalayan News Service
Share Now:

Kathmandu, October 11

The ruling Nepali Congress today formed a parliamentary board to finalise tickets for the provincial and parliamentary polls slated for November 26 and December 7.

The Central Working Committee meeting of the NC formed a 17-member board comprising senior party leaders, including Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba.

According to NC treasurer Sita Devi Yadav, who is also a member of the board, senior leaders Ramchandra Paudel, Khum Bahadur Khadka, Arjun Narsingh KC, Ram Sharan Mahat, Prakash Sharan Mahat, Krishna Prasad Sitaula, Gopal Man Shrestha, Purna Bahadur Khadka, NC General Secretary Shashanka Koirala, Prakash Man Singh, Bal Krishna Khand, Gyanendra Bahadur Karki, Mahesh Acharya, Chitra Lekha Yadav and Bimalendra Nidhi are members of the board.

NC statute allows forming 14-member parliamentary board but the party increased three members, according to Yadav. Board member Khand said PM, Deuba, who is also the NC secretary, added three more members with the consent of NC CWC.

Meanwhile, the board meeting held at PM Deuba’s official residence this evening reviewed the reports and lists of candidates recommended by its regional and district committees.

“Today, we saw s list of candidates recommended by our regional and district committees,” said leader Khand. He said the parliamentary board would select names of candidates for Proportional Representation and First-Past-the-Post elections from the list recommended by those committees. NC regional and district committees have recommended dozens of names of aspirants for single seats under FPTP category. “The board will select names from the recommended list, as per the quota determined by the Election Commission,” said Khand.

According to leader Khand, the board would finalise names of PR candidates by October 15. Political parties have to submit close list of PR candidates on October 15, as per the schedule published by the EC.

Khand said the board would finalise FPTP candidates only after candidates of PR category are finalised. Parties have to submit list of FPTP candidates for November 26 elections on October 22 at offices of chief returning officers from 10:00am to 5:00pm, as per the EC schedule.


A version of this article appears in print on October 12, 2017 of The Himalayan Times.

Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories:

More from The Himalayan Times:

Surya Nepal donates Rs 10mln to COVID-19 fund

POKHARA: Surya Nepal Pvt Ltd has contributed ten million rupees to COVID-19 fund set up by Gandaki Province, on Tuesday. On behalf of Surya Nepal Pvt Ltd, Gautam Yadav and Baburam Karki handed over the cheque amount to Chief Minister Prithvi Subba Gurung. "This support has boosted our morale i Read More...

162 infected with coronavirus in Tanahun district

DAMAULI: As many as 162 persons have been infected with coronavirus in Tanahun district, so far. According to the District Health Office, 144 males and 18 females staying under quarantine upon arrival from foreign countries tested positive for the virus. DHO Chief Shankar Babu Adhikari said, Read More...

Five days on, Barekot landslide victims still waiting for relief

JAJARKOT, JULY 14 Five days after landslides claimed about a dozen lives at different places in Barekot Rural Municipality, the displaced lot are still waiting for relief. While 11 people died in the incidents, one is still missing. Two injured persons, , are undergoing treatment at Kohalpu Read More...

Three dead, one missing in Syangja landslide

POKHARA, JULY 14 Three lives were lost in a landslide in Kaligandaki Rural Municipality, Syangja, this morning. According to Syangja Chief District Officer Ganga Bahadur Chhetri, three of the six persons who had come to repair a drinking water pipeline at about 09:00am died after they were Read More...


339 sickle cell anaemia patients in Dang district

DANG, JULY 14 There are 339 patients of sickle cell anaemia in Dang. A total of 169 patients are under regular medication in Ghorahi Sub-Metropolitan City. Fifty-two news cases were found in the sub-metropolis and 118 new cases were found in Dangisaran Rural Municipality in tests carried out l Read More...

Decision to ramp up tests in Sudurpaschim yet to be implemented

DHANGADI, JULY 14 Sudurpaschim provincial government’s decision to set up coronavirus testing laboratories in several districts is yet to be implemented. It may be noted that the provincial government here in March-April had decided to establish a laboratory each in Baitadi and Doti, and one Read More...

DCC accords priority to implement Halesi masterplan

KHOTANG, JULY 14 The District Coordination Committee of Khotang has prioritised implementation of Halesi master plan. The fourth district assembly passed the resolution presented by DCC Chief Babi Chamling yesterday. The district assembly also prepared an annual programme for implementing the Read More...

Second phase of repatriation to begin today

KATHMANDU, JULY 14 The government is starting the second phase of repatriation process of stranded Nepalis across the world from Wednesday. After one month of the repatriation process, which started on June 10, the government had paused the process for a few days. However, officials at the Read More...