Nepali Congress set to elect new leadership Sunday after concluding GC closed session

KATHMANDU: Nepali Congress, the largest political party in the Parliament, is all set to elect the new leadership for next five years on Sunday after it concluded closed session of the 13th general convention on Saturday.

Party's acting President Ram Chandra Paudel said the closed session endorsed the party's policy and programme on Saturday and it would elect the leadership to implement the same tomorrow.

The policy and programme was discussed among around 3,200 representatives gathered from across the nation.

The voting would begin at the Rastriya Sabha Griha at 8 am on Sunday, according to the party's Election Committee.

The Committee has expected to complete the voting by 4 pm tomorrow itself and begin counting votes of the election for the president immediately.

It would count votes for other office bearers and Central Working Committee members after announcing results of the presidential poll.

Incumbent General Secretary Krishna Prasad Sitaula, acting President Paudel and senior leader Sher Bahadur Deuba have thrown their hats in the ring for the top post of the party.

Likewise, leaders Gagan Thapa, Shashanka Koirala and Arjun Narsingha KC are in the fray for the powerful general secretary position from Sitaula, Paudel and Deuba panels respectively.

Leaders Umakanta Chaudhary, Sita Devi Yadav and Chitra Lekha Yadav are vying for the treasurer's post.

Total 312 persons would vie in the election for 64 positions, including three office bearers and 61 CWC members, to be held on Sunday.