Newly appointed ministers take oath

KATHMANDU: President Bidya Devi Bhandari has administered the oath of office and secrecy to the newly appointed cabinet ministers on Thursday.

Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli had sent the list of new ministers to the president late on Wednesday night. PM’s Press Adviser Surya Thapa had confirmed that the Prime Minister had sent a letter with details of new appointees to President Bidya Devi Bhandari.

A meeting of the ruling Nepal Communist Party (NCP) held Wednesday afternoon finalised the names of new MPs to be inducted to the Cabinet in place of the outgoing ministers who, according to the Prime Minister, had performed ‘underwhelmingly’.

Six incumbent ministers and three state ministers were made to leave the Cabinet while nine others have joined the Oli-cabinet.

The following list of ministers have taken the oath in the place of those leaving:

Incoming Ministers


Outgoing Ministers

Hridayesh Tripathi

Minister of Federal Affairs and General Administration

Lal Babu Pandit

Ghanashyam Bhusal

Minister of Agriculture and Livestock Development

Chakra Pani Khanal

Lekhraj Bhatta

Minister of Industry, Commerce and Supplies

Matrika Yadav

Rameshwor Ray Yadav

Minister of Labour, Employment and Social Security

Gokarna Bista

Basanta K Nembang

Minister of Physical Infrastructure and Transport

Raghubir Mahaseth

Parbat Gurung

Minister of Women, Children and Senior Citizens

Tham Maya Thapa

Moti Lal Dugar

Minister of State for Industry, Commerce and Supplies

Dhan Bahadur Budha

Nava Raj Rawat

Minister of State for Health and Population

Ram Kumari Chaudhari

Ram Bir Manandhar

Minister of State for Urban Development

Surendra Kumar Yadav

Also present at the oath-taking ceremony were Vice-President Nanda Bahadur Pun, Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli, Chairperson of the National Assembly Nanda Bahadur Pun, among others.

The sworn-in ministers will assume their office from today itself.