Various journalists' organisations and independent candidates have announced their candidacy for a number of posts in the Federation of Nepali Journalists executive committee.

The FNJ is electing a new executive committee in its 26th annual general convention being held on April 7.

Bipul Pokharel filed his nomination for the post of FNJ chair on behalf of the joint alliance of press union, press organisation and others.

Likewise, the candidate for the post of senior vicechair is Ramesh Bista, Bala Adhikari for women chairperson, Udaya GM for inclusive vice-chair and Roshan Puri for the post of general secretary.

Meanwhile, Gajendra Budathoki has filed his nominations for the post of chairperson, as an independent candidate. Also in the fray for the post of open vicechair is Dhruva Lamsal, Sheetal Prasad Mahato as inclusive vice-chair and Prakash Thapa as treasurer.

Nirmala Sharma filed her candidacy for the post of FNJ chair on behalf of the progressive-inclusive alliance.

Madhav Nepal is the candidate for the post of senior vice-chair, Dana KC as woman vice-chair and Awadesh Kumar Jha as inclusive vicechair and Bal Krishna Basnet as general secretary.

A version of this article appears in the print on March 29, 2021, of The Himalayan Times.