Himalayan News Service

Lalitpur, February 20

Prime Minister Surya Bahadur Thapa who is also the Chancellor of the Royal Nepal Academy of Science and Technology (RONAST) inaugurated the 19th academic meeting today.

Vice-chancellor of RONAST Dr Dayananda Bajracharya announced that the fourth National Science and Technology Conference would begin from March 23-26. The conference will honour Dr Deepak Prasad Subedi, Dr Mamata Budhathoki, Aaviskar Subedi, Dr Mohan Raj Sharma and Dr Dandapani Adhikari with the His Royal Highness Crown Prince Youth Science and Technology Award.

Dr Jeevan Bahadur Sherchan and Chilime hydro power project are chosen for the Academy of Science and Technology Promotion Award while Dr Meena Adhikari is to receive the Third World Academy of Sciences Award. The prime minister lauded RONAST for its contribution in the field of science and technology.