KATHMANDU: The voting process for the election to the President of the Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal has begun. An electoral college comprising Members of Federal Parliament and Province Assemblies will caste their votes to elect the President today. Separate voting centres have been stationed for members of both the levels of parliament at the Federal Parliament Building in New Baneshwor. All federal parliament members, and members of the provincial assemblies including Chief Minister, Speaker and Ministers, are present as the voting for presidential election is underway. Member of the federal parliament Jeep Tshring Lama and member of province assembly Dama Sharma were the first voters to cast their ballots at 10:00 am sharp. Main opposition party Nepali Congress has pitted former lawmaker Kumari Laxmi Rai against incumbent President Bidya Devi Bhandari in the run for the top post. Bhandari has been endorsed by the left-alliance. The election will be held through 10:00 am to 3:00 pm today. The votes will be immediately counted and the result will be declared as soon as the vote counting concludes. In all likelihood, the left-alliance backed candidate will emerge victorious with an overwhelming majority, which signifies that the current President will be re-elected and continue into the new term of office. As per the Constitution of Nepal, the term of the President shall be of five years. Federal Socialist Forum Nepal, Rashtriya Janata Party Nepal, and other fringe parties have also backed the left-alliance candidate.