RPP-N's Yadav elected Deputy Speaker of House

KATHMANDU: Rastriya Prajatantra Party-Nepal's Ganga Prasad Yadav was elected the Deputy Speaker of the Parliament unanimously.

Yadav was elected unanimously to the post after Nepal Workers and Peasants Party withdrew the candidacy of its lawmaker Dilli Prasad Kafle.

Earlier, the House had elected UCPN-Maoist's Onsari Gharti Magar to the post of Speaker.

Both Gharti and Yadav were backed by the ruling coalition, consisting of CPN-UML, UCPN-Maoist, Rastriya Prajatantra Party-Nepal, Madhesi Janaadhikar Forum-Democratic and some fringe parties.

The main opposition Nepali Congress had also voted for them. Speaking at the House meeting, NC Vice-President Ram Chandra Paudel said the party decided to support Gharti and Yadav as the Speaker and Deputy Speaker should be impartial and neutral, and a unanimous election would help them be so.