KATHMANDU: Ruling parties and the main opposition Nepali Congress on Monday formed a seven-member task force to work on addressing the latter's demand, thereby ending the ongoing House obstruction.

NC Chief Whip Chin Kaji Shrestha told THT Online that the task force would try to find an all-agreeable road map to better manage the reconstruction works so that the main opposition party would be convinced to let the House continue its sessions.

Krishna Prasad Sitaula, Prakash Sharan Mahat and Shrestha himself represent the main opposition in the task force. Likewise, Subas Chandra Nembang and Bhim Rawal of CPN-UML, Krishna Bahadur Mahara of CPN Maoist Centre and Dilnath Giri of Rastriya Prajatantra Party-Nepal are task force members from the ruling coalition.

"We hope that the task force would complete its assignment and the Parliament meeting can take place tomorrow," he added.

According to Shrestha, his party would put forth major two issues - release of Rs 200,000 grant to earthquake survivors in lump sum and enlistment of those missing in the list of earthquake-hit households - in the task force meeting.

Speaker Onsari Gharti Magar has postponed the meeting for 3:30 pm tomorrow by issuing a notice after repeated obstructions by the NC.


NC to obstruct House unless govt commits to lump sum grant