SC honours 25 advocates

Kathmandu, August 3:

The Supreme Court today conferred the title of senior advocate on 25 advocates for their role in delivering justice to people.

The full-court meeting of justices of the apex court today decided to confer the title. Endorsing a report prepared by a three-member panel of Justices Anup Raj Sharma, Balram KC and Tahiar Ali Ansari, the meeting decided to confer the title of senior advocates on 25 advocates, including incumbent Attorney-General Yagya Murti Banjade and former ad hoc SC judge Pawan Kumar Ojha.

Bishnu Prasad Nepali, Amar Bahadur Pandey, Narayan Prasad Khatri, Narayan Prasad Yadav, Madan Mohan Thapa, Arjun Prasad Lamsal, Netra Bahadur Nepal, Kousal Kishor Dwevedi and Giriwar Prasad Yadav are among the senior advocates.

Yogendra Prasad Sharma, Devendra Singh, Laxman Lal Karna, Narayan Ballav Pant, Padam Nath Sharma Paudel, Kamal Narayan Das, Madan Prasad Gupta, Harihar Dahal, Binod Kumar Sharma and Prakash Wosti were also conferred the title. Also on the list of senior advocates are Bharat Raj Upreti, Lila Prasad Sapkota, Badri Bahadur Karki and Ram Prasad Sitaula.

Among them, Das is former president of the Supreme Court Bar Association, Dahal is former president of the Nepal Bar Association, Upreti is expert on commercial law and Karki is former Attorney- General.

According to SC’s assistant spokesperson Hemanta Rawal, the full-court considered 15 years of experience as a criterion for recognising advocates as senior advocates. Loyalty of the advocates towards their profession was also considered.