KATHMANDU: CPN-UML Chairman KP Sharma Oli has said that the new constitution would be promulgated based on the 16-point agreement signed by the leaders of four major political parties.

Welcoming the leaders of different political parties into UML from Nuwakot district at a programme organised in the party headquarters on Saturday, Oli termed the agreement ‘historic’. The deal has ended the deadlock seen in constitution-writing process, he added.

The 16-point deal was signed by Nepali Congress, UML, Unified CPN-Maoist and Madhesi Janaadhikar Forum-Democratic on June 8 to ‘pave the way for statute writing’. He also asked the new entrants to work the development and prosperity of the country.

Likewise, Minister for Foreign Affairs Mahendra Bahadur Pandey said that the country and people have wished for peace and stability and that the UML was launching different campaigns for the same.

Unified CPN-Maoist district leader Thakur Prasad Gajurel, Purna Lal Shrestha of Rastriya Prajatantra Party and 354 other leaders of different parties joined the UML on the occasion.