Transport labourers elect new body

Kathmandu, August 13:

The third general assembly of the Balaju Micro-Bus and Tempo Professional Labour Union today unanimously elected a 13-member executive committee under the chairmanship of Som Prasad Tulachan. Other members include senior vice chairman Kuber Prasad Khadgi, vice chairman Milan Kumar Shahi, general secretary Ratna Kajee Dongol, secretary Madan Krishna Maharjan, treasurer Mohan Gauchan. Bal Krishna Shrestha, Devendra Bhattachan, Rajendra Krishna Shrestha, Shantu Maharjan, Sanu Kajee Maharjan, Rajendra Manandhar and Bishnu Shrestha were elected as members. Speaking at a function, president of Federation of Nepalese National Transport Entrepreneurs Hira Udas expressed concern over the increase in the vehicle tax.