KATHMANDU: Standing committee meeting of the ruling CPN-UML today formed a seven-member team to hold

talks with other political parties to find a way out of the political deadlock that has derailed the parliamentary business.

Standing committee member Bharat Mohan Adhikari has been appointed coordinator of the talks team. Its members are Yuvaraj Gyawali, Keshav Badal, Pradeep Gyawali, Urmila Aryal, Ramchandra Jha and Parshuram Meghi Gurung.

“We’ll be holding talks with all the parties to end the present deadlock, creating an atmosphere conducive for adopting the new constitution on time and for bringing the peace process to a logical end,” Adhikari said. The meeting, chaired by party chairman Jhalanath Khanal, was held at the party headquarters in Balkhu. Adhikari said the challenge now was to ensure a safe-landing of the transitional period by adopting the new statute on time. He said the team would start talks at

the bilateral and multilateral levels with all the parties at the earliest.

The impasse remains after the UCPN-Maoist, continued obstruction of the parliament demanding that the House be allowed to discuss the President’s ‘unconstitutional’ move to sack the then army chief.