Left alliance to share power in provinces

KATHMANDU: The left alliance partners today agreed to share posts of chief ministers, provincial speakers and deputy speakers as per the deal reached between CPN-UML Chairman KP Sharma Oli and CPN Maoist Centre Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal.

As per the agreement facilitated by the task force formed by the Party Unification Coordination Committee, the UML will have chief ministers in provinces 1, 3, 4 and 5 and the CPN MC in provinces 6 and 7.

The CPN-UML will field its candidates for speakers’ posts in provinces 1, 3, 6 and 7 and the CPN MC in provinces 4 and 5.

The CPN MC will vie for deputy speakers’ posts in provinces 1, 3, 6 and 7 and the UML in provinces 4 and 5. The CPN MC had earlier sought the post of four speakers where the UML would have its chief ministers.

The left alliance has absolute majority in six provinces other than Province 2.

The UML and CPN MC also agreed to share ministerial berths in provincial cabinets in a ratio of 70:30.

The cabinets will have seven to 11 ministers, depending on the strength of provincial assemblies.

Ministerial portfolios and allocation of the posts of chairpersons of provincial assembly committees will be decided by chief ministers of the concerned provinces and the parliamentary party leaders of the two parties.

UML leader Subas Chandra Nembang said, “The agreement was reached on the basis of voting pattern in provincial polls, the present political scenario, spirit of party unity, appropriate candidates in concerned provinces and inclusion,” Nembang told mediapersons after the meeting.

Before the task force meeting in Singha Durbar, Nembang and CPN MC leader Ram Bahadur Thapa met Oli and Dahal, who gave their nod to the power-sharing deal envisaged by the PUCC task force.

Chief ministerial candidates

  • CPN-UML leaders Sher Dhan Rai and Bhim Acharya have staked claim to the chief minister’s post in Province 1. In the 93-member provincial assembly, the UML has 52 seats and CPN MC 15
  • CPN-UML Vice-chairperson Astha Laxmi Shakya Bohora is likely to contest the CM’s post in Province 3. UML leader Rajendra Pandey has also staked claim to the CM’s post in this province. In the 110-member assembly, the UML has won 58 seats and CPN MC 23
  • CPN-UML leaders Prithivi Subba Gurung and Kiran Gurung have staked claim to the CM’s post in Province 4. In the 60-member PA, UML has 27 seats and CPN MC 12
  • CPN-UML leader Shankar Pokharel will contest the CM’s post in Province 5. In the 87-member PA, UML has 41 seats and CPN MC 20
  • CPN MC leader Mahendra Bahadur Shahi has staked claim to the CM’s post in Province 6. In the 40-member PA, UML has 20 seats and CPN MC 13
  • CPN MC leader Birman Chaudhari has staked claim to the CM’s post in Province 7. In the 53-member PA, CPN-UML has 25 seats and CPN MC 14


UML, Maoist Centre agree on provincial chief ministers and speakers

KATHMANDU: A joint task force of CPN-UML and CPN Maoist Centre has reached an agreement on the chief ministers and speakers provinces.

As per the agreement, chief ministers in Province 1, 3 4 and 5 will be from CPN-UML and CPN Maoist will claim ministerial berth of Province 6 and 7.

Likewise, CPN-UML will appoint the speakers in Province 1, 3, 6 and 7 whereas while Maoist Centre will have speakers in Province 4 and 5.

According to UML General Secretary Shankar Pokharel, two parties have also agreed to form provincial cabinets with 7-11 ministers. The task force meeting held in Singha Durbar decided to form the provincial governments in the ratio of 70:30 seat sharing, informed Pokharel.