Clarification sought from 12 others, 24-hours allotted


The Standing Committee of CPN-UML has decided to expel eleven of its lawmakers including former Prime Ministers Madhav Kumar Nepal and Jhalanath Khanal.

A meeting of the ruling party held on Monday decided to take action against Khanal, Nepal and nine other lawmakers that refused to submit an explanation to the committee for their decision to go against the party and support the opposition alliance.

They will not even remain general members of the party following the action.

Other expelled lawmakers include Bhim Rawal, Ram Kumari Jhankri, Sarala Yadav, Mukunda Neupane, Pushpa Kumari Karn, Kalila Khatoon, Lakshmi Kumari Chaudhari, Kalyani Khadka and Nira Devi Jairu.

Meanwhile, party chair Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli has decided to seek clarification from 12 other leaders from the Nepal-Khanal faction, allotting them a 24-hour ultimatum to serve explanation.