President Bidhya Devi Bhandari has awarded the winners of the National Poetry festival organised by Nepal Academy for the year 2020-21.

The winners were honoured by the head-of-state at a special programme at the Office of the President, in Sheetal Niwas, today.

Among the winners who were awarded include Bhairavi Bhugol from Nuwakot, Kabita Rai from Bhojpur, Prajwal Adhikari from Lamjung and Amrita Smriti from Dhading.

Bhugol's Nepalko Geet (2020) and Rai's Deshako Naksa (20721) stood first. Likewise, Adhikari's Sankalpa (2021) and Smriti's Dadhelopachhi Basanta Aaunchha (2021) secured second position.

Similarly, Ganesh Prasad Khatiwada's Aamako Aadesh from Solukhumbu, Devaki Abhilashi's Aaama Ek Viswavidyalaya from Dolakha and Rejina Aapgai's Sambridha Nepalko Sapana from Tehrathum bagged the third prize in the national poetry festival in 2020.

Likewise, Niranjana Kumari Chand's Yugin Pratidhwani from Bardiya, Sabita Baral's Aama Ma Aaye from Taplejung and Prakash Silwal's Bodhisatwako Khop from Nuwakot won the third positions in this year's festival. They were awarded with cash prize on the occasion.

The first prize carries a purse of Rs 50,000, the second prize Rs 40,000 and the third prize Rs 30,000.

The national poetry festival is in the annual calendar of the Nepal Academy. It is organised on Asar 9 as per the Nepali calendar, the establishment day of the Academy.

A version of this article appears in the print on July 15 2021, of The Himalayan Times.