12 held for electricity theft in Mahottari

MAHOTTARI: At least 12 people were arrested for electricity theft from around the Nepal Electricity Authority branch in Jaleshwor of Mahottari district on Tuesday.

A joint team of the Nepal Police and the Armed Police Force arrested them from Dhirapur, Ekarhiya, Pipra, Matihani VDC and Jaleshwor Municipality, informed the NEA Branch Office Chief Surya Narayan Mandal.

They were arrested in course of a drive to control electricity theft. It has been learned that around 10,000 people have been using the stolen electricity.

The NEA fines the arrestee Rs 5,000 each for the crime and releases them.