21 teachers quit to contest civic polls

Khotang, June 7

As many as 21 teachers have quit their jobs to contest in the second phase local elections scheduled for June 28 in Khotang.

According to the District Education Officer, 14 primary, five secondary and two lower secondary teachers have tendered their resignation.

The teachers, however, have cited household problems for their decision to quit.

While former head teacher Rajan Dhakal of Simpani Secondary School is running for the post of chairperson from Khotehang Rural Municipality representing CPN-MC, former teacher and resource person Bishwonath Niraula of Makpa Secondary School has been picked to contest from CPN-UML for the chair of Eselukharka Rural Municipality.

Likewise, former teachers Keshavraj Karki, who resigned from Saraswoti Secondary School of Dandakharka Schhitapokhari; and Basanta Rai, who resigned from Janata Secondary School Batase; are vying for ticket to run for the post of Diprung Rural Municipality chief, representing NC.

Meanwhile, a lecturer from Diktel Multiple Campus too has joined the trend and put in his paper to field himself as an election candidate from Nepali Congress for the post of chairperson from Jantedhunga Rural Municipality.

Likewise, two social mobilisers working in different government projects in the district too have left their jobs to try their luck in the upcoming polls.