3 left-wing student unions merged

Kathmandu, March 1:

A 171-member central executive committee of All Nepal National Independent Students’ Union-Revolutionary (ANNISU-R) has been formed after merging with All Nepal National Free Students Union-Unified and a faction of All Nepal National Free Students Union affiliated to CPN-ML.

The top leaders of the union led by Lekhnath Neupane include Ramdip Acharya, Kanchan Khanal, Yubaraj Chaulagain and Jagrit Rayamajhi as vice-presidents, Himal Sharma as general secretary, Bindaman Bista, Chakrabyuha Thapa and Nisha Shah as secretaries and Ramesh Malla as treasurer.

Addressing the function organised to announce the unified structure, ANNISU-R president

Neupane said that they would use all means to counter if anybody dared to attack on his cadres.

The programme was attended by former presidents of the unions including Biswokanta Mainali, Leelamani Pokhrel, Devendra Poudel, Krishna Dhoj Khadka, Devendra Parajuli and Krishna KC. General secretary of UML-affiliated ANNFSU Madhav Dhungel was also present during the function.

Vice-president Rayamajhi said students would play a pivotal role if the nation needed any kind of revolt whether it be peaceful or armed.

The 58-member secretariat members of the unified union include Aendra Limbu, Bina Magar, Suresh Gautam, Tara Bhandary, Lalit Ghalan, Ratna Dhakal, Ranjit Tamang, Kiran Ingnam, and Namita Neupane among others.