30 NC leaders resign en masse

Bajura, August 10

Thirty district leaders of Nepali Congress, including District Working Committee Organisation Department Chief and former secretary Dhan Raj Pandit, jointly put in their papers in Bajura today.

Saying that the central leadership had picked candidates of the district coordination committee unilaterally without consulting them, they announced their resignation at a press meet today. District working committee members Dhan Raj Pandit, Uma Rokaya, Govinda Singh, Nanda Thapa, among others, resigned. Nepal Women’s Association District Chairperson Amrita Singh, Taraun Dal District Secretary Hirendra Rokaya, Treasurer Shree Chandra Upadhyay, Nepal Dalit Association central member Bir Bahadur BK, among others, put in papers expressing dissatisfaction with the central leadership.

Speaking at the press meet, they accused central member and parliamentarian Badri Pandey, district President Kabi Raj Pandit, mahasamiti members Dev Raj Joshi and Janak Raj Giri and Tribeni Municipality Mayor Ram Singh Rawal of picking district coordination committee members as per their vested interest. “As the candidates were picked unilaterally even without holding a meeting of the district working committee, we tendered joint resignation to the party’s district president Kabi Raj Pandit,” said Tarun Dal district Secretary Rokaya.

NC has fielded Narendra Rokaya and Sunita Sunar as chief and deputy chief of the DCC, according to the Chief Election Office Information Officer Dharma Raj Jaishi. The election result will be made public on August 12.