99.52pc voter turnout in National Assembly election: EC

KATHMANDU: The National Assembly polls were held in a peaceful and enthusiastic atmosphere in six provinces, the Election Commission (EC) said. The EC added that 99.52 per cent voter turnout was recorded in the election held from 10:00 am to 3:00 pm Wednesday.

Of the 56 members, all the National Assembly members were already elected unopposed from Province 2. The EC said that 1,669 votes were cast out of total 1,677 votes, while eight voters remained absent in the election.

In the Electoral College established in each province, Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson of the Rural Municipalities, Mayor and Deputy Mayor of the Municipalities, and Members of the Province Assemblies were the voters of the National Assembly.

Certificates distributed to Province 2 NA members

The unanimously elected members of the National Assembly (Upper House) from Province 2 have received the certificates. Chief Judge of High Court, Janakpur, Uday Prakash Chapagain, handed over the certificates to the members amid a function here Wednesday.

Of the total eight members from the province, all were elected unopposed - Jitendra Dev from Nepali Congress, Suman Raj Pyakurel from CPN-UML, and Ramesh Prasad Yadav from Rastriya Janata Party Nepal. They were elected unopposed under the open category.

Similarly, Mukta Kumari Yadav of NC, Pramila Kumari of Sanghiya Samajbadi Forum Nepal, and Shashi Kala Dahal of CPN Maoist Centre were elected unopposed under the women category.

Chandra Lal of RJPN was elected under minority quota and Ramprit Paswan from SSFN under Dalit quota.

Speaking in the programme, Dev, also the Minister for Culture, opined for ending poverty and backwardness with proper implementation of federalism in the country.

NA election result of Province 7 out

CPN-UML candidate Chakra Prasad Snehi and CPN-Maoist Centre's Mahesh Kumar Mahara have been elected to the National Assembly (NA).

According to election officer Jayananda Paneru, UML's Snehi (under the Dalit category) received 122 votes from the local representatives and 39 from provincial representatives. His rival from Nepali Congress Sheriram Parki got 73 votes from the local representatives and 12 from provincial representatives.

Similarly, under the minority and disabled category, MC's candidate Mahara won the election by securing 122 votes from local representatives and 39 from provincial representatives, while his rival from NC Chhatra Raj Joshi got 74 votes from local representatives and 12 from provincial representatives.

One vote from among the local representatives was invalid in the election.

Though eight candidates were elected from each province to the NA election, UML's Sher Bahadur Kunwar, NC's Badri Pande and MC's Hariram Chaudhary had already been elected unopposed.

Similarly, UML's Indu Kadariya and Kamala Kumari Oli and NC's Taradevi Bhatta were elected unopposed under the women category.

Of the total 229 voters, only 227 had cast votes in the election.

Six from left alliance, two from NC secure NA seats from Province-3

Eight members - six from left alliance and two from Nepali Congress - have been elected in the National Assembly from Province 3.

Election officer Bal Mukunda Dawadi informed that UML had Balram Prasad Baskota, Dil Kumari Rawal (Parbati), Uday Sharma Poudel, Singha Bahadur Bishwokarma and Ram Chandra Rai. Similarly, Ram Bahadur Thapa is elected from the CPN Maoist Centre.

Radheshyam Adhikari and Dhankumari Khatiwada are elected from Nepali Congress. There were 14 candidates for eight posts of the NA from the Province-3.