Baidya Maoists announce new front for election purpose

KATHMANDU: The CPN -Revolutionary Maoist, led by Mohan Baidya, has formed a separate front to take part in the upcoming elections.

Named Deshbhakta Janaganatantrik Morcha, the front is headed by CP Gajurel, while  Pari Thapa is its secretary.  Kamal Chaudhary, KB Gurung, Pawanman Shrestha, Shreenath Adhikari, Nagendra Rai and Kes Bahadur Pariyar are other members of the front.

"We have decided not to register our party in the Election Commission and not to take part in election in the name of the party, Gajurel said, at a news conference here in Kathmandu today. "We, however, decided to take part in the election in the name of Morcha as per the need."

Chairman Gajurel said that the Morcha would announce protest programme soon to exert pressure to resolve problems related livelihood like price hike, black marketing, corruption and unemployment.