Banke prepares for by-election

Nepalgunj, November 2

The ruling Nepal Communist Party (NCP), Nepali Congress and Rastriya Prajatantra Party-Nepal, have put forth their candidates for the post of ward chairperson in Banke’s Kohalpur Municipality-6, for the upcoming by-election slated for November 30.

While the NCP has recommended Ramsharan Tharu as its candidate for the post, NC and RPP-Nepal have recommended Krishna Tharu and Shreedhar Subedi respectively for the post.

The post had fallen vacant after the death of Ramsohan Tharu, who was elected from the NC in the last local elections. While the ward had a total of 1,964 voters during the last local elections, voters’ number has increased to 2,026 by now, as per data provided by the District Election Office.

In the previous election, Ramsohan had secured 424 votes to bag the ward chair’s post, against 352 votes gained by his rival Shreeram Tharu of then CPN-UML. Ramsharan Tharu, who was then in CPN-MC, had secured 273 votes. As the election nears, parties are working hard to secure victory.