Bhojpur quake victims set to get part of govt grant

Bhojpur, April 12

Earthquake victims in Bhojpur have started signing agreements with the government to collect the grant for constructing their houses two years after the Gorkha Earthquake of 2015.

A source at Bhojpur Municipality said quake victims will be collecting the grant amount from 11 banks in the district.

According to the municipality office, as many as three victims at ward No 7 signed the agreement for the grant amount today.

The agreement states that quake victims will get Rs 50,000 in the first instalment, Rs 150,000 in the second instalment and Rs one lakh in the third instalment for house construction. Information Officer Dhan Kumar Rai in the District Coordination Committee said that as many as 10,426 households are in the list of beneficiaries.

According to Rai, Rs 5 crore has been allocated for quake victims in the region. Engineer Dev Narayan Yadav said the work would be forwarded under the earthquake settlement reconstruction project. Yadav said the names of the banks have been announced in two municipalities and seven rural municipalities.

It is said that Rastriya Banijaya Bank, Nepal Bank, Agriculture Development Bank and private banks such as Laxmi Bank, Everest Bank, Century Bank, Nepal Bangladesh Bank, Prabhu Bank, Citizen Bank, Tourism Development Bank and Sagarmatha Finance will be providing the grant amount to victims.