Biggies file nomination for upcoming FPTP elections

KATHMANDU: The top leaders of big three political parties have filed their nominations for first-past-the-post elections of  House of Representatives and State Assemblies scheduled for December 7.

Election Commission today said the nomination process for the second phase of elections to the House of Representatives and State Assemblies slated for December 7 concluded peacefully in 45 districts.

Nepali Congress President and PM Sher Bahadur Deuba is contesting from Dadeldhura district, who filed his candidacy through his aide Ganesh Panta, will via against leftist alliance candidate Khagraj Bhattta for the Member of Parliament berth.

Likewise, NC senior leader Ram Chandra Paudel is contesting from Tanahun-1. NC General Secretary Dr. Shashanka Koirala filed his nomination from Nawalparasi-1. Bimalendra Nidhi from Dhanusha-3.

NC's Deepak Kuinkel and Dr Prakash Sharan Mahat are contesting from Kathmandu-2 and 5 respectively.

Similarly, UML Chairman KP Sharma Oli has filed his nomination from Jhapa-5, CPN-Maoist Centre Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal filed his candidacy from Chitwan-3.

UML leader and former PM Madhav Kumar Nepal and General Secretary Ishwar Pokharel are contesting from Kathmandu -2 and 5 respectively. Former PM Jhalanath Khanal and Subhas Nembang filed their nominations from Ilam-1 and 2.

UML vice chair Bhim Rawal and Bam Dev Gautam are contesting elections from Achham-1 and Bardiya-1 respectively.

Rastriya Prajatantra Party Chairperson and DPM Kamal Thapa filed his nomination as a common candidate from democratic alliance from Makwanpur -1.

Likewise, CPN-Maoist Centre spokesperson Pampha Bhusal filed her nomination from Lalitpur-3, Narayan Kaji Shrestha from Gorkha-2, Krishna Bahadur Mahara from Dang-2.

Federal Socialist Forum Chair Upendra Yadav is contesting from Saptari-2 and RJP-N Presidium Coordinator Mahantha Thakur is contesting form Mahottari-3.

As per the constitutional requirement all levels of elections should be held by January 21, for the implementation of constitution and federalism in the country.