CPN-MC swept away

Rajbiraj, December 16

CPN-Maoist Centre faced a humiliating loss in the recent provincial and parliamentary elections in Saptari.

The party had won in three of the six constituencies in the second Constituent Assembly elections, though it had failed to win a single seat in the first CA elections from the district.

Then Manpur Chaudhary from Constituency No 1, Ashok Kumar Mandal (Amar) from Constituency No 2 and Umesh Kumar Yadav from Constituency No 3 were elected.

This time, Mandal and Yadav who contested the parliamentary elections from Constituency No 1 and 2 lost to Federal Socialist Forum-Nepal’s Dr Surya Narayan Yadav and party Chair Upendra Yadav respectively. Likewise, Rastriya Janata Party-Nepal candidate Chandra Kanta Chaudhary and Nepali Congress candidate Teju Lal Chaudhary were elected from Constituency 3 and 4 respectively in the parliamentary polls.

The district currently has four parliamentary constituencies.

Further, CPN-MC could not win any of the total eight provincial assembly seats in the district. Representing the left alliance, the party contested in three provincial constituencies. It’s performance was poor even in the local level polls in the district.

Local party activists blamed weak party leadership at the district level and its poor coordination with the centre, intra-party factionalism and financial irregularities that, they said, took place at the time of the election, for the dismal performance of the party in the district.

The party’s Politburo member Mandal who lost the election from Constituency No 1, argued that the election result did not come in their favour as their rival candidates lured voters through monetary means.